mdm - Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung


Anhalt-Wittenberg und Fläming

  • Gotisches Haus im Wörlitzer Park

  • Zusammenfluss von Mulde und Elbe

  • Muldenstausee bei Bitterfeld

  • Birkenwald am Bergwitzsee

  • Kiefernwald bei Kemberg

  • See bei Radis

  • Straße bei Kropstädt

  • Schlosspark Burgkemnitz

  • Blick auf Pretzsch

  • Pantheon im Wörlitzer Park

  • Friedrikenbrücke im Wörlitzer Park

  • Schlosspark Georgium

The contrast between untouched nature and man-made landscapes is nowhere exposed more strikingly than it is in the Anhalt-Wittenberg region. The middle stretch of the Elbe with its adjacent floodplains has been recognized as a biosphere reserve by the UNESCO since 1997; the floodplains between the ends of the tributaries Mulde and Saale feature precious hardwood forests and meadows boasting great biodiversity. The Dessau-Wörlitzer Gartenreich was founded and designed in the 18th century by the enlightened duke Leopold III of Anhalt-Dessau and has since achieved world fame. This enormous park features artistically sophisticated garden landscapes, an educational and aesthetically pleasing cross of nature and architecture. The former strip mining pits of Goitzsche and Ferropolis are impressive examples of modern landscape design: the Goitzsche mining area has been transformed into an art project with surreal-looking hill formations, cones, and floating rocks, while Ferropolis is now a city of gigantic brown coal excavators. The eastern part of the region is characterized by the vast Dübener Heide and Annaburger Heide heathlands and woods. The regions main cities are Bitterfeld-Wolfen, Dessau-Roßlau and Lutherstadt Wittenberg.

Landkreis Anhalt-Bitterfeld
Landkreis Wittenberg
Landkreis Nordsachsen (Sachsen)
Nature Park Fläming
Nature Park Dübener Heide
Garden Kingdom of Dessau-Wörlitz