mdm - Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung



  • Wald im Harz

  • Teufelsmauer im Winter

  • Baumannshöhle Rübeland

  • Blick vom Ilsestein zum Brocken

  • Hexenaltar und Teufelskanzel auf dem Brocken

  • Hochmoor auf dem Brockenplateau

  • Teufelsmauer bei Thale

  • Ilsefälle im Ilsetal

  • Rappbode-Talsperre

  • Blick zur Rosstrappe

  • Schloss Wernigerode

  • Brocken im Winter

The Harz mountain range is one of the most fascinating landscapes of central Europe. It is divided into three subregions. The Hochharz (high Harz) is home to the highest mountain of Northern Germany, the Brocken with its subalpine treeless summit, measuring 1,142 meters. The high quantity of precipitation and low temperatures in its lower regions produced moors and huge evergreen forests which remain relatively untouched. Today, these patches of pristine ancient forests form the heart of the Hochharz National Park. The Hochharz is surrounded by the Oberharz (upper Harz), a larger region which forms the core of the Harz mountains. It is dominated by plateaus, steep valleys carved by the Selke, Bode and Ilse rivers, mountain meadows and numerous ponds. Past mining activity did not spare the Harz. Even today, numerous buildings, rock dumps, caves, and channel networks bear witness to this past. The third subregion is the Unterharz (lower Harz), situated at the center of Saxony-Anhalt. It is dominated by wide, open landscapes, rolling foothills, vast deciduous and mixed forests, meandering meadow streams and rivers. The regions main cities are Halberstadt, Quedlinburg and Wernigerode.

Landkreis Harz
Landkreis Nordhausen
Harz Tourism
National Park Harz
Grünes Band
Drehort Harz (German)
Location Magazin International 2016